Tagged: bandcamp

Psychic Realty — Call For Remixes

I thought it would be cool to see what other peo­ple would do with the songs from Psy­chic Realty, so I’ve gone ahead and exported all the stems from (almost) all the tracks and made them avail­able below.

I’ve got a few b-sides that didn’t end up on the main album, and I’m sure you’ve got tons of ideas on how to man­gle my audio, so why not join forces and put out a remix thing? The idea here is : you grab stems and make some magic, I fin­ish up my b-sides, and in a cou­ple months we’ll put some­thing out together on Band­camp.

Rules & Stuff

  • No Rules
    • Seri­ously, I don’t care what you do with the stems. Any genre, any style, any­thing is wel­come. There won’t be any tracks sub­mit­ted that won’t get included in the release.
    • Cov­ers are totally cool too, if that’s your thing. Lyrics are avail­able on the Band­camp page for the album.
  • No Prizes
    • Sorry, I can’t pay you for your remixes, but you retain absolutely full rights for your mix, can do with it what­ever you want. The release on Band­camp will be free, so I won’t be mak­ing money off your hard work. This is 100% for fun.
  • Dead­line
    • I’d like to have this release out this Sum­mer, so the dead­line for sub­mis­sions is June 7th, 2014.
  • Sub­mit­ting
    • You can send me your sub­mis­sion via the form below (or alter­na­tively, here)
    • I’ll also accept mixes via email, WeTrans­fer, Drop­box, etc. Please email me at jeremy [at] sound-and-vision.org
  • For­mat
    • WAV or Aiff, at least 44.1k, 16 bit.
    • Unmas­tered tracks, please. Feel free to send both mas­tered and unmas­tered if you’ve done some mas­ter­ing your­self. The tracks will be get­ting mas­tered all together.
    • Make sure to send your pre­ferred music alias, email, web­site, and a lit­tle bit about your­self so I can give you the stu­pid mad props you deserve once this album comes out.


Get your stems here. If you want a par­tic­u­lar stem exported dif­fer­ently (less verb, more dis­creet), let me know. I can also export MIDI clips of stuff from the tracks. Tempo and Key info are in the file­names of the files. Stems are avail­able on both Drop­box and Google Drive.

Another Thing Com­ing
https://db.tt/HBVH43w2 / http://goo.gl/gCM1fm

Burn­ing Chrome
https://db.tt/L1fLGtO5 / http://goo.gl/gE6Ggo

Frame of Mind
https://db.tt/ieyWEwHN / http://goo.gl/AnvBVq

https://db.tt/phWST77r / http://goo.gl/OcisP4

My Heart As Your Home
https://db.tt/HKMEfn3I / http://goo.gl/4qmBi7

https://db.tt/R3nZ1IN9 / http://goo.gl/fyZV1j

Some­thing We Can Stand (updated 04/09/2014)
https://db.tt/GCKVPnLP / http://goo.gl/OlMnWV

https://db.tt/Gqek7EVD / http://goo.gl/hEPQOd

Two As One
https://db.tt/G5YBnVjz / http://goo.gl/ZC5jpd

Sub­mit Your Remix

Fun Facts About Psychic Realty

Some fun facts about my new album, Psy­chic Realty :

the scene of the crime
  • The entire album took ~ 7 months to complete.
    • Writ­ing : 3 months
    • Mix­ing : 2.1 months
    • Mas­ter­ing : 2.2 months
  • Orig­i­nally it was sup­posed to be a dark ambi­ent / glitch album, ala Kiln’s Dusker.
  • The songs began as jam ses­sions in Live’s ses­sion view and got fleshed out until there was enough struc­ture to record scratch vocals. If there was struc­ture and a good melody, it made it to arrange view and was devel­oped further.
  • The album fea­tures Access Virus A, OP-1, a really crappy Lotus elec­tric gui­tar, Mee­blip, and lots of Kontakt.
  • Lyrics were writ­ten based off sound and feel of the non­sense scratch vocals, and were recorded with an SM58. I tried using my fancy SE mic, but it was way too brit­tle and strangely washy.
  • The album title comes from an Oak­land store that sells new-age brick-a-brack.
  • The cover photo is a pro­jec­tion of the title onto myself and our apart­ment win­dow. The photo was taken by Brian Mar­tin.
  • We spent two week­ends try­ing to bounce 2-tracks to a 1/4″ Otari tape machine until we real­ized that some­thing was really wrong with the machine and scrapped all the tape mixes (which is sad because they did have a spe­cial “something”).
  • The mas­ter­ing chain went some­thing like : EQ, Waves C6, Waves LinMB, Waves Cen­ter, Vox­engo VariSat­u­ra­tor, PuigChild 670, AOM Invis­i­ble Lim­iter, iZo­tope Ozone (for addi­tional EQ and multi­band stereo pro­cess­ing), and finally an L2.
  • The orig­i­nal work­ing titles for the tracks were :
    1. exexex
    2. washed out
    3. mod­erat garage
    4. another thing coming
    5. pako­bell
    6. dive
    7. hissong
    8. grav­ity
    9. boardsy
    10. drifter
    11. that car­pen­ter sound
    12. 606 beat with gtr

Pychic Realty is avail­able for free, on Band­camp.

New Album — Psychic Realty, Now Available

I’m proud to announce the release of a new full length album, Psy­chic Realty.

Psy­chic Realty is a bois­ter­ous pop album fea­tur­ing 13 brand new songs. From sim­ple begin­nings as jams in Able­ton Live, these songs took shape over the last 6 months into what you hear today. Not quite “nor­mal” pop-structure, this album nonethe­less fea­tures lots of vocals, gui­tar, piano, and plenty of elec­tron­ics to tickle your ears.

This album is avail­able for what­ever you want to pay over at Band­camp. Down­load­ing it for free it totally fine with me. Full down­load of the album get’s you the bonus track, “Midnight”.

Thanks, and happy listening.

New Album — In Control

I’m very proud to announce the release of a new full length album, In Con­trol.

In Con­trol is an hour-long seam­less mix of orig­i­nal house-centric dance music. It began life as many dif­fer­ent tracks, pro­duced at dif­fer­ent inter­vals through­out the last 5 years. Ear­lier this year I scoured my projects archive to stem every­thing out for live per­for­mance, and spent a few months prac­tic­ing and tight­en­ing every­thing up. In Con­trol is the cul­mi­na­tion of those efforts.

From a two-hour Live jam ses­sion (Able­ton + Behringer BCR2000 + Nova­tion Launch­pad) I whit­tled and pol­ished and huffed and puffed (my eardrums) until you get what you hear here.


BVR5Hm1CEAEEhuc.jpg large

Mostly house, some­times not. Mostly nice, some­times nasty, this album is avail­able for “free” (pay what you want) over at Band­camp.

You can stream a seam­less ver­sion from Sound­cloud.

Thanks, and happy listening.